Close

Sessions

Children are accepted at Saplings Playgroup from the age of 2 years. We run morning sessions during term times from 9am to 12 noon, Monday to Friday.

With sufficient demand it may be possible to run 1 hour lunch club sessions.

Autumn Term 2018

Autumn term starts – Wednesday 5th September 

Half Term – Monday 22nd October – Friday 26th October

Autumn term ends – Wednesday 19th December

Spring Term 2019

Spring Term starts – Monday 7th January

Half Term – Monday 18th February to Friday 22nd February

Spring Term ends – Friday 5th April

Summer Term 2019

Summer Term starts – Wednesday 24th April

May Bank Holiday – Monday 6th May

Half Term – Monday 27th May to Friday 31st May

Summer term ends – Wednesday 24th July

Fees

From September 2018, the cost will be £17 a session.

We will give parents a minimum of a half term’s notice if we intend to raise fees, which are reviewed on a yearly basis.

Session Funding

We are registered to receive Early Education Funding (EEF) for 3 year olds, which means that any child attending Pre-school from the term after their 3rd birthday is eligible for Government funding, until they commence full-time primary education.

We also have places for the Government funded “free two’s” scheme.

Download latest funding agreement (pdf)

Funding information for parents and carers (pdf)

A typical session at Saplings…

Our day starts with a free-play session with activities including:


  • puzzles & games
  • painting, gluing & sticking
  • messy play
  • construction toys
  • role play
  • outdoor play with climbing frames, trikes and sandpit.


We then have an adult led activity such as “make & pretend”, or singing one of their favourite songs! Your children are actively involved, singing the words and performing the actions.

10.30am is tidy up and snack time. We encourage independence in the use of cups and plates, and self serving of fruit and drinks. The children also take turns washing up. This time gives them the opportunity to sit down together and share.

Time for outdoor play! We have a number of outdoor toys and activities for your children to enjoy playing with and sharing.

Storytime next, when we sit together indoors to read and investigate the day’s chosen book.

At around 11.50am we prepare to go home, by finishing the session with a song. At 12:00 your children will be ready for collection.

Sessions Enquiry Form